Apricot Orange Pancakes

I have made quite a few posts for pancakes. While they are all good, none of them turned out like I really wanted them to. Pancakes have been a part of my cooking repertoire since I was able to man the stove myself, at about 9 years old. Up until I started this blog I have always followed recipes and never attempted to make my own.

It has been a goal of mine to create an original pancake recipe that actually results in my definition of what a perfect pancake is. What is a perfect pancake? I define one as being: simple to make, doesn’t take that long to cook on each side, and is thick and fluffy. My previous attempts always seemed to take a long time to cook and they were still not done in the middle. I couldn’t figure out why.

Finally, something magical happened. I made a close-enough-to-perfect pancake! Sadly, these aren’t the healthiest ones I’ve made. Maybe that was my problem. I was always trying to make these super healthy pancakes and failing every time. I suppose these aren’t toooo unhealthy. I did manage to leave out the oil and added sugar. Call it what you want. All I know is these guys have turned out great every single time I have made them. So please give them a try and enjoy my long-awaited breakfast success.

Apricot Orange Pancakes

Apricot Orange Pancakes

vegan, soy-free, nut-free, oil-free, gluten-free option*

yields about 12 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (* use gluten-free flour baking mix)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseed meal
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cup nondairy milk
  • 1/4 cup apricot applesauce (I use the Sprouts brand, any will do)
  • 2 tablespoons apricot preserves
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange extract
  • coconut oil, for cooking

Directions:

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the wet ingredients together. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix until thoroughly blended.
  2. Melt a small amount of coconut oil on a nonstick preheated griddle. Use 1/4 cup to measure batter and pour on griddle. I usually don’t need to add more oil to finish making the rest of the pancakes, but do so if needed.
  3. Cook on medium heat for 3 to 4 minutes on each side. You may have to adjust the heat as you cook so they don’t burn. Serve immediately and with your favorite toppings. Enjoy!

Apricot Orange Pancakes

7 thoughts on “Apricot Orange Pancakes

      • Hi Penny! So glad you like this recipe and thank you for asking a question 🙂 When I say apricot preserves I mean like jam. I consider jelly to be the over-processed super smooth stuff. You can actually see apricots in the preserves I buy. You could use either really. Whatever is available to you. Using the jam is why I left out added sugar since it’s sweet enough on its own. I hope your guy approves. Have a great day!

Leave a comment