Beefy Crumbles Polish Style

I planned on posting a completely different recipe tonight. As I looked through my stack of recipes waiting to be shared, I came across one that disappeared from my mental file cabinet. I forgot about it because it’s one of my older ones, not because it wasn’t any good. It was SO good and I wish I was stuffing my face with it right this minute.

I went back to my roots for this one. It’s definitely not a low-fat recipe. I’m sure you can make it one if you want to. For me though, this was a yearning for a dish containing some Southern love of butter mixed with my German ancestry. This came from a faint memory of something I had as a child. Oh man is it comforting!

A note about Beyond Meat: This is not the first time I have mentioned them, but I thought a more formal note should be written. We do enjoy their beefy crumbles every so often. As having a vegan kid allergic to soy and nuts, I really do appreciate having a convenient option when we need/want one. There are so few processed vegan products that we can have, and in my opinion Beyond Meat does a bang up job of what they produce. They’re also a pretty good company that I don’t mind supporting. So thank you, Beyond Meat, for making our lives a little easier when we need a break.

Polish Cabbage and Beefy Crumbles

Polish Cabbage and Beefy Crumbles

vegan, soy-free, nut-free, gluten-free

serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 pound spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
  • 3 carrots, peeled and thinly sliced into coins
  • 1 onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small crisp apple, peeled and diced
  • 1 small head green cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1 package Beyond Meat Beefy Crumbles
  • 1/2 cup soy-free Earth Balance butter, divided
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 teaspoon sage
  • 1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1/4 teaspoon caraway seed
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Brush oil on the surface of the squash and place the squash, cut side down, into a glass baking dish. Roast for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and flip over to let cool.
  2. In a large non-stick skillet melt 2 tablespoons of butter and saute carrots and onion for 5 minutes. Stir in seasoning and cook for another minute.
  3. Reduce heat to medium-low, add the rest of the butter and melt. Mix in garlic, apple, and cabbage. Cook for about 5 minutes or until cabbage starts to soften. Stir in beefy crumbles and cook for another 3 minutes.
  4. Pour in the wine and stir. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes or until cabbage is cooked, stirring occasionally.
  5. Taste for salt and pepper. Top over squash and enjoy!

Polish Cabbage and Beefy Crumbles

Polish Cabbage and Beefy Crumbles

Polish Cabbage and Beefy Crumbles

Leave a comment